Finding Time, Making a Life

Busy much? I know I am but that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t make time. You should make time for your kids, time for your spouse,  and most importantly time for yourself. I know this is easier said than done. We find ourselves wrapped up in work, school, cleaning, yard work, and the other tasks of life. Often we forget that there are people who need, want, and crave our attention. My kids get most unruly when I dont spend enough time with them. Okay, yes I am a stay at home mom. So you say, “How is this possible?” Well I have a life to keep up with, kids to chase, work to do, cleaning to be done, food to be cooked, and school to do with the kids.

Making time for yourself and your spouse should also be equally important. My fiance has a crazy work schedule. It’s 5:23 am, and here we sit together spending time with each other. It doesn’t have to be any sense of normal. I’ve slept 3 hours tonight and will sleep 3 more this afternoon. I chose to spend time with him whenever I can. You see I was up half the night, til 1am, taking time for myself after the kids went to bed. This is how we choose to live our life. We have an extremely odd schedule, yes. We school first thing in the morning, usually starts at 10 and done by 2.Oh, the joys of homeschooling. Then I nap or work, it just depends. After that, it’s kid time. Then, when they are in bed, I have more work time to do blog things and such.

I have to pick my battles daily. These battles aren’t very major and seem petty but to me having a life and raising my kids is very important to me. So some days the dishes don’t get done, others schoolwork is not done, other days we just Netflix and chill and nothing gets done. I chose to spend time with the people who mean the most to me. There’s a quote that always hit home with me, “Don’t get so busy making a living that you forget to make a life!”

This hits home with me, I need to be involved in my own life. Don’t get so busy making money, cleaning the house, doing other thing and forget to make memories. Memories that will last a lifetime; these things are what is important. I’m glad I have the opportunity to be so involved. I give many thanks to my fiance! Love you’re family! It’s free, and is very valuable to them. Make the time! Even if it’s only a couple of hours. Some things can be left for tomorrow; our kids and spouse need us today.

Hope you have a wonderful day!

22 thoughts on “Finding Time, Making a Life

  1. That’s a great quote! It all sounds exhausting and makes me a little glad I’m not at that stage of my life yet. However, it all sounds very rewarding too. Just remember what Arianna Huffington preaches about overworking and how you work more effectively when you’re well rested – so it doesn’t matter if the dishes don’t get washed sometimes (although this would personally really irritate me, haha.) What you write about making time for loved ones is incredibly important and something I think a lot of us forget! So thank you for the reminder. x

    Like

    1. You’re welcome! I am trying to cut down on the amount of things I have on my plate. It is just taking longer than I had imagined. Time is precious! So go love on those who you hold close to your heart.. Even if it is just a simple phone call. Thanks for reading and commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I am so glad you found my post helpful. We often forget that moments mean more than money, chores, or anything else that will take time away from your family. Thanks for reading!

      Like

  2. It’s so important to take time out for ourselves and our partners. My husband and I stay up way too late so that we have time together after the kids go to bed. And, okay, it’s also to binge watch our favorite shows – but we are watching together!

    Like

  3. Serious words to live by. I find it so difficult sometimes to get a balance and moreover find a routine where I don’t beat myself up for skipping something. I’ve just started to prioritize happiness (planning fun outings and travel) and let everything else fall into place. Really great post!

    Like

    1. You shouldn’t beat yourself up. It’s perfectly normal and okay not to have it all together every waking moment. Life is a choice, not a destination. Thanks for reading!

      Like

  4. I’m a stay at home mom too and it’s definitely challenging trying to find balance. In the past, I always put everyone/everything before me. But now I’m making myself a priority so that I can pour from a filled cup. It’s a juggling act. But I’m grateful that my husband and I are on the same team to make it work!

    Like

    1. It is challenging. Makinng yourself one of those priorities is very important. It will get better and easier as you find that perfect balance. Good luck and thanks for reading!

      Like

    1. You’re welcome! I hope you find that perfect balance. I know all too well how hard it is to make time. I was once not so good at it myself. Thanks for reading! 🙂

      Like

  5. Great post and a reminder that self-care involves making quality time for yourself and for those closest to you. It can be a juggling act but you’ll be mentally healthier for it. I know!

    Like

    1. Yeppers! It’s a difficult pill to swallow sometimes, letting go of some things, but you’re exactly right. It’s so important to our health. Thanks for reading!

      Like

  6. You’re so right! My kids also get unruly when I try to get things done during the day. I take it as they’re not-so-gentle reminder to shift my focus back to them. The busy can wait, so I make the time for them and for my husband. Thanks for this great reminder!

    Like

    1. You’re welcome! I feel bad sometimes but they mean more to me than a spotless house, or dinner on the table at the same exact time every night. All that can wait, making memories with kids is so exciting. And not to mention, oh so very worth it. Thanks for reading and commenting!! 🙂

      Like

  7. Man this makes me feel bad. All year I’ve been focusing on my blog and youtube (and they’ve been growing at exponential rates…kinda) that I honestly have been forgetting to make a life. I mean I go to college but I don’t really engage in many of the events they have because they’re often LAME. Lol. This summer was also spent working, but I made some time to see a few friends. I just enjoy working on my blog! I do take breaks though…am I living a life?

    Like

    1. If that is what you have chosen for your life, then I say yes. Everyone’s life is different, I am pretty sure that if you are doing something that you love, then you are in fact living life. Life is not a one size fits all. We all have many different levels of normal. So if you are happy, then by all means continue doing what you are doing…

      Like

Leave a Reply

