Do You Keep a Diary or Journal?

I had someone mention keeping a journal yesterday, so I figured I’d ask here and see who keeps a journal! So, do you keep a journal? Why? Does it help you release emotions? Keep track of your emotions? Do you feel better after writing in your journal? How do you utilize your journal? Do you share your journal with others? Do you just write or do you use prompts?

I have tried numerous times to keep a journal, and I fail epically every time! I do good the first week or so, then I either start losing interest or lose the book I have been using. I just don’t know how to write/express my emotions into a journal. Yet, here I sit writing on a blog…..Imagine that! The thoughts are so random, they rarely make sense. This discourages me because I can’t actually understand or remember what was going on that day.

Eventually, I get frustrated with myself and just say that it is not worth it.

I need a place to verbalize/write my emotions without it becoming a hassle. I have tried writing my journal on the computer, my phone, in a book!!  For one reason or another, it never works out.

So help me understand the reasons behind why you journal!

I’d greatly appreciate any and all feedback.

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Do You Keep a Diary or Journal?

  1. Actually, I have both. I have my blog to be both a diary and journal for the scribbles I’d like to take note of. Haha. But having a paper journal helps me remember things. My paper journal is where I write my ideas to help me with the blog.

    Like

    1. That’s awesome! I’m so glad you’ve found a system that works for you. I need a better reminder system for my blog. I may start using my calender on my phone. Thanks for reading and commenting! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve had a journal since I was a teenager. I think it became a habit for me to have one, and it’s where I write my prayers. I guess it’s because I began it in the height of my church days and that’s what I used to process my thoughts.

    Like

    1. That so awesome! That’s great, and I think it’s ok for a journal to be whatever you want it to. I’m glad you’ve found a way to succeed with journaling. I can’t get the hang of one for the life of me. Lol. Thanks for reading & commenting!

      Like

  3. I know when I do have a journal it helps me. I simply don’t have the time and energy or motivation. It’s really a shame because it’s really good for your mind to release stress like this. And it’s interesting to read back how much you’ve grown.

    Like

    1. I’ve got to find a wash ti figure this out. I need a his place for daily reminders, somewhere to wrote in random thoughts, and a place to put my emotions. All in one place. Thanks for reading and commenting!

      Like

  4. I can relate too you! I’ve tried several times to keep a journal and yet, I’m only good on the first few days. After that, I just can continue doing it everyday. Can I consider my blog as my journal? Because it’s already my extension of feelings and ranting and all. Though not for everyday writing. hehe

    Like

Leave a Reply

